I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 2-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

Sam A. Mabini, PhD
F. F. Blas, Jr.

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
V. Anthony Ada
B. J.F. Cruz
Chris M. Duenas
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
Mana S. Taijeron
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.
Aline A.Yamashita

Relative to commending and congratulating the incoming and outgoing Officers and Board of Directors of the Filipino Ladies Association of Guam on the occasion of the Association's Fiftieth (50th) Induction Ceremony.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF
2	MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, established in 1962, the Filipino Ladies Association of
4	Guam (FLAG) has for many years contributed to our island community; and
5	WHEREAS, the FLAG has continually supported the academic
6	endeavors of our young people, such as through its generosity in funding
7	scholarships for students each semester at the University of Guam; and
8	WHEREAS, the FLAG has also financially assisted the American Cancer
9	Society, Women United Against Cancer, the Carmelite Sisters, and their
10	Posthumous Awardees' charity of choice; and
11	WHEREAS, the FLAG has commemorated Guam by its participation in
12	the Smithsonian Institution Traveling Exhibit-Key Ingredients, America by
13	Food, presented by the Guam Humanities Council, and jointly sponsored by
14	the Guam Council of Women's Clubs and the Uzeum-Children's Museum of
15	Guam; and
16	WHEREAS, through its New Membership Campaign, FLAG garnered a
17	significant increased in membership of the year; and
18	WHEREAS, through tireless efforts, FLAG has facilitated medical
19	treatment for fellow citizens in need; and
20	WHEREAS, the outgoing 2010 Officers and Board of Director members
21	of the FLAG include: Chet Brocka-Neri, President; Loisa Cabuhat, Vice

- 1 President; Annie Gozum-Soto, Recording Secretary; Mercy Alegre,
- 2 Corresponding Secretary; Fe Singh, Treasurer; Gloria Baguinon, Assistant
- 3 Treasurer; and Board of Director members: Maritess Barrogo, Lorie Castelo,
- 4 Alicia Gaza, Char Gervacio, Amelia Mendiola, Zeny Asuncion-Nace, Lourdes
- 5 Pamintel, Leonila Ronquillo, Terry Sana, and Elizabeth San Nicolas; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the incoming 2011 Officers and Board of Director members
- 7 of the FLAG include: the rotating Presidents, Annie Hernandez-Lumba, Annie
- 8 V.T. Gozum-Soto, Lynda Tolan, Nilda Estampador, Aurora Leonen, Chet
- 9 Brocka-Neri, Sabina Tamondong, Patricia Birosel, Teresita S. Swift, Rita
- 10 Manibusan Dominguez, Rose Hidalgo, Adelia F. Custodio, Aida Miranda,
- 11 Gloria Mangahas Baguinon, Mimi Jardiolin, Fe Dionisio Singh; and their
- 12 fellow officers, Leony Ronquillo, Vice President; Ana Lisa C.W. Reed,
- 13 Recording Secretary; Elizabeth San Nicolas, Corresponding Secretary; Loisa
- 14 Cabuhat, Treasurer; Evelyn Anselmo, Assistant Treasurer; and Board of
- 15 Director members, Lorie C. Castelo, Maritess Barrogo, Alicia Gaza, Char
- 16 Gervacio, Rose Hidalgo, Susan La Rosa, Amelia Mendiola, Sylvia Mercado,
- 17 Zeny Asuncion-Nace, and Nietzche Tolan; now, therefore, be it
- 18 **RESOLVED**, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na
- 19 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 20 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Filipino Ladies Association
- 21 of Guam for its innumerable and invaluable contributions to Guam; and does

- 1 further congratulate and commend the outgoing and the newly-elected
- 2 officers and members of its Board of Directors; and be it further
- 3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on
- 4 Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and
- 5 that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Annie Hernandez-Lumba;
- 6 to Rose Hidalgo; to the first two (2) 2011 Presidents of the Filipino Ladies
- 7 Association of Guam; to Ms. Chet Neri, 2010 President of the Filipino Ladies
- 8 Association of Guam; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen
- 9 Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINATRENTAL UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 7^{TH} DAY OF JANUARY, 2011.

BENJAMIN J.F. CRUZ

Acting Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO

Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES

Legislative Secretary